Board Elections for 2018-19

The names below were nominated for new TACT Board Offices.

Please indicate your approval, disapproval or write-in candidates. Ballot replies are due by 5:00 PM Friday, March 23.

President-Elect -- Lisa Hobson

Vice-President of Membership -- Teresa Klein

Vice-President of Legislative Affairs -- Patrick Burkart

Directors-At-Large -- Matthew Capps, Lynn Tatum, Gary Coulton, Mary Jo Garcia Biggs, Peter Hugill, Ann McGlashan, Jonathan Coopersmith

Special Item Funding

The Joint Interim Committee on Higher Education Formula Funding met today for only the second, but possibly last, time. Their report is due in June. You may remember that last session, the initial Senate Finance Bill zeroed out the $1.1 Billion formerly known as Special Item Funding for universities. TACT, with others, spent much effort reinstating most of the funds to the approved budget, but they’re still on the firing line.

Formula Funding Committee Convenes

The Joint Interim Committee on Higher Education Formula Funding met yesterday for the first of two scheduled meetings before its June report is due. The expected discussion on the $1.1 Billion issue of Special Item appropriations was scheduled for February 27.

TACT First Alert 2-6-2018

Last chance to register for TACT’s 2018 Spring Legislative Day which will be held on February 16th at the Texas State Capitol. We will meet in The Rotunda at 8:30 AM and begin meetings at 9:00 AM. Your attendance is a great way to voice your opinon on issues important to you and experience TACT in action. RSVP: Abby at There is no charge.

TACT Spring Announcements

TACT Seeking Board Nominations

Have you ever thought about serving your fellow faculty through a leadership position on the Board of the Texas Association of College Teachers? Now is your opportunity. Please submit your vita, contact information and a short statement about why you would like to contribute by January 23.

Elected officers are expected to travel to Austin three times each year for board meetings and legislative visits, beginning June 2.

Questions? Call Chuck at 512-491-9275.

Syndicate content